Back to WhereThereBeDragons.com
Photo by Sampor Burke, Mekong Semester.

Introduction

Hi!, my name is Annabelle Vletter, I am 17, Dutch and currently live in Amsterdam. However this has not always been the case, I was born in Wassenaar (a small town outside the Hague in the Netherlands) and I lived there till I was 2. Then I moved to London where I lived till I was 6, I then moved back to Wassenaar and initially (first 5 years) went to a Dutch elementary school. For 7th and 8th grade however I went to an American school in the same town. When I was 13 I moved to New York City where I completed my freshman and sophomore year, and then when I was 15 I moved back to Wassenaar where I finished high school. About 2 months ago I moved to Amsterdam.

I chose to do a gap year because I graduated high school at 17 and so it was natural to do a gap year since I had an extra year anyway. I really love to travel I’ve been lucky enough to have lived in a lot of places and to have travelled a lot in my life, however I have only been to Asia once (Malaysia) 6 years ago and Im really excited to actually explore different countries, cultures and relgions in the region.

I’m really excited to learn about the culture and religion of the the Mekong area as well as simply visiting a place I’ve never been before. I’m probably most nervous about the homestays and potentially (most likely) not speaking the same language as the people I will be staying with.

A fun fact about me is that most people assume I am American (and actually wont believe that I am not) because my accent in very convincing after being in american education for 6 years, so far in fact that even in Dutch I have a slight american accent.