Back to WhereThereBeDragons.com

Instructor Introduction – Han ZHANG (Tony)

Hi everyone (大家好),

Greetings from Down Under! Don’t get me wrong. I won’t guide you to Australia (where I live now) but to my home country – China, what’s more fascinating, to my hometown – Kunming where I grew up until the age of 19. Hope all of you are excited as I am for the brilliant course!

I attended university in Chongqing, and then worked in Chengdu. My broad experience in Southwest China helped me develop unique insights to the region’s diverse ethnic groups, cultures, social customs and geography. As a seasoned NGO professional, I served seven years for Heifer International China Office in various capacities of fundraising, program management, communication and networking, including hosting more than 30 study tours for donors, international schools and scholars to visit rural and ethnic minority project sites.

Around the same time, I also volunteered for several other NGOs including
Interplast, a California-based cleft surgery charity; and ShelterBox, a UK-based
disaster relief charity and a Rotary working partner. I participated as a front-line
relief volunteer in the 2008 Sichuan Earthquake, and subsequently, in 2010, in the
Yushu Earthquake (Tibetan region), Qinghai Province.

As a Rotary Peace Fellow, I completed his second master’s degree in International
Studies at University of Queensland in 2017, instilling in me a solid theoretical
foundation of international relations and a thorough understanding of peace and
conflict resolution.

Due to my love of public speaking and leadership training, I was a co-founder of a
Toastmasters club in Chengdu and has been a member and a mentor for many young
members for more than seven years, rising through the ranks to become a Division
Governor for Toastmasters South China District 89. I just achieved the Distinguished Toastmasters honor last month.

Having spent the past three years living in Australia, I have gained a profound
understanding of Western culture, acquired a bit of Aussie slang, and explored a
number of fascinating aspects of the Australian wilderness.

In my spare time, I work as a freelance translator, a language tutor, and as a
diligent dad of a two year old toddler. I also play tennis twice a week and other sports regularly.

I can’t wait to explore and learn a little more about my home country with all of you. Let’s learn and grow together through our upcoming adventure in China!

 

Tony ZHANG