Back to WhereThereBeDragons.com
Photo by Caleb Brooks

A bit about me

Hello! My name is Max, and I’m from Westchester County, New York. I was born in Ohio and lived for several years in Missouri, but I’ve been a NY resident for most of my life.

I’m writing this on a cool Saturday morning as I sit on my front porch, having a cup of coffee and watching the cars go by as I prepare to head down to the farmers’ market. I know that I will miss these moments, and I cherish the time that I have left with my friends and family, but I am eager to break up the routine and begin this journey in India.

In my free time, I love exploring the Hudson Valley’s hiking and biking trails, often with my dog. One of the opportunities I’m most looking forward to in India is spending more time in and around nature. This summer, I’ve been reading The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy and Guha’s India after Gandhi to learn more about the history and culture of the place we’ll be living in for the next 9 months.

I’m really interested in politics, and it is exciting to be traveling to India in its current political climate. I am fascinated by how such a large and diverse nation has been able to sustain its democracy, and I plan on studying politics and history once at Princeton.

Between trips to REI for last-minute gear purchases and trying to savor the final moments of summer, I find myself getting more and more excited for spending a year in India. Looking forward to meeting you all, and the people, experiences, and foods we will encounter soon.

Max