Back to WhereThereBeDragons.com
Photo by Sampor Burke, Mekong Semester.

Hey everyone!

Hi there! My name is Ben. I’m 18 years old, just graduated High School, and I will be starting at Northeastern University in about a year. I’m planning on studying Civil Engineering, although if I don’t enjoy that, I would be interested in studying something History or Sociology related. I’m from White Plains, New York, a relatively small city just north of New York City. I’m super excited to be meeting all of you in just about three weeks and to start what I hope to be a fabulous adventure!

I have quite a lot of interests and hobbies. My biggest ones are cars and airplanes, I’m super interested in them and have a ton of useless knowledge related to aviation and cars. I’m also big into theater and singing, the outdoors, food and cooking, and of course travel. I’m extremely lucky in that I come from a family that is hugely travel oriented and does whatever we can to see the world. I’ve been to quite a few places, and am so excited to get to experience Southeast Asia.

My music tastes are kind of all over the place, and there aren’t that many genres of music I don’t listen to, but my favorite is probably 80s alternative (and pop) music. Bands like The Cure, Duran Duran, Depeche Mode, Hall & Oates, and some other varied stuff. I also am a big fan of Twenty One Pilots, Panic! At the Disco, All Time Low, and wannabe emo bands like that.

I’m excited for a lot of aspects of the trip, but I think the homestay’s are the most intriguing to me. They’re going to be a big step out of my comfort zone, but I think also a massive way for me to really feel like I understand the culture and way of life in the country. I’m also super excited to try all the amazing food, and would love to learn how to cook some of it if I get the chance.

After this trip, I’m going on another Dragon’s semester to India in the Spring. And then, it’ll be off to college where I hope to continue my world travels with semester’s abroad and maybe even international co-ops. Can’t wait to meet everyone! See you all soon!

Ben

Pictures are of my sister and I next to a street lamp and me and my parents on a mountain, both in Spain where we went last April.