Back to

Instructor Introduction

Hello Students,

I am writing to you all from Kalimpong, a small Himalayan town nestled on a ridge at an altitude of 4,800 ft in West Bengal, India. It is a pleasure to be traveling with you all in Nepal this September. It takes a lot to step out of one’s comfort zone and I am proud of each one of you for taking this step to venture into the unknown. I assure you that this is going to be one of the best decisions of your life. Let me take this opportunity to introduce myself a bit.

I was born and raised in Sikkim, a country that was incorporated as a part of India in 1975. I graduated from Calcutta University and completed my M.A in South & South East Asian Studies. In 2011, I started a travel company with my wife hoping to introduce the myriad cultures of the Himalayas to travelers. From 2014 I have been involved helping run a primary school in my village, where there are currently 32 village kids enrolled. I also love working on the land and help people build farms that are community based and sustainable. I started working with Dragons in 2017 and have run 3 semester, 2 summer and 2 partnership programs with them. I am WFR certified and have been running outdoor activities for 8 plus years now. A fun fact about myself is that I play in a 4 member music band with members coming from different backgrounds. A psychologist, a sound engineer, a classical musician and me. As long as I can remember I have always had a deep appreciation for music, travel and art in my life.

I am excited to be a part of this program in Nepal and I look forward to meeting and connecting with each one of you soon.