Back to WhereThereBeDragons.com
Temple ruins in Amman, Jordan Summer Program.

Hello and ahlan wa sahlan!

MarHaba everyone! Hello!

My name is Elley and I will be one of your instructors on our trip to Jordan this March! I can’t wait to meet you all in March – it can’t come soon enough! This is my fourth time leading a trip with Mr. Emmott and my eighth Dragons trip overall, which is hard to believe! The reason why I love leading trips with students like you and continue to come back is because it brings me true joy and deeper insight into the world. I can’t wait to experience that with all of you.

A little about me: I grew up in a small town in Northern California, moved to Boston for college, and then moved to Egypt once I graduated. I lived there during the Egyptian revolution, then relocated to Jordan for a few years where I worked for Middlebury College. That’s where I got to know Dragons and started working for them. I love bringing groups of students to the region, namely because I get to see the country through different eyes each time, and so I always learn new things.

In my regular life, I live in Portland, OR where I work as a community school supervisor serving Muslim immigrant populations. I run the after school program, teach classes, organize community events, and support families with social services. I also teach and tutor Arabic and occasionally work as a medical interpreter. In my free time, I love to be outdoors hiking, camping, and contemplating. I also spend a lot of time doing racial justice organizing work, talking about things like racism, wealth, and privilege and brainstorming ways to create a more equitable society. In the US I tend to move very fast, with my days full of activity and productivity. My trips to Jordan help me remember to slow down, sip tea and connect with people, and help me see the world from another perspective. After our trip in Jordan, I’m hoping to head to Egypt or the West Bank to do some traveling.

Soon Mohammad will introduce himself, and then you all are next! Please post a photo and tell us a little bit about yourself. What do you like to do? What are you passionate about? What is your favorite food? Mine is any type of carbohydrate + cheese. Nachos, quesadillas, pizza, manaqeesh, etc.